Two Approaches for Managing Resources


Several scientists are working on natural resource management. Here, we mention two groups that are linked to two research associations, the International Society of Ecological Economics (ISEE) and the International Association for the Study of Common Property (IASCP). The former association conducts research with a view to integrating ecological systems within economic frameworks. The latter is involved in the management of common property, particularly renewable natural resources.

Economic approach

The economics of natural resources and the environment provides a set of theories and conceptual tools to monitor, analyse, evaluate, and regulate (Dales, 1968; Arrow and Fisher, 1974; Bromley, 1991). In particular, economics provides a model for the sustainable use of renewable natural resources in the form of management tools, such as taxes, quotas, grants, subsidies, standards, licences, permits, property rights, and market rights.

In addition, environmental economics relies on a representation of the circular interaction between humans and nature. The environment provides services to society which can be quantified. In return, Man transforms the environment-this action constitutes an externality-and by so doing, restricts the decisions that can be made by other agents. Appropriate policies and management tools can be used to ensure that natural services are used efficiently and to compensate for the externalities. Economic methods of monetary evaluation can be applied to both services and externalities.

Thus, different possible uses of an ecosystem or a landscape can be compared. Economic methods of evaluation-based on the capacity to clarify representations-can be applied to several types of problems. They are presented as negotiation methods for stakeholders.

One of the weaknesses of the economic approach is its failure to account for the temporal dimension when it comes to finding a balance between resources and society.

Ecological economics has improved on this by adding the concept of the co-adaptation between the natural and social worlds. In addition, the dynamics differ from a series of balanced situations. Systemic models that represent the dynamics using stocks-flux relationships are often used (Clark, 1990).

Common pool resources

An international association for the study of common property (IASCP) was set up in the late 1980s. However, its origins date back to the publication in 1968 of G. Hardin's theory of the failure of the commons. In fact, the author expressed the view that a common resource exploited by rational economic agents is bound to disappear because of over-exploitation. Different solutions have subsequently been put forward to solve the problem: privatization or the establishment of a central authority responsible for managing the access to resources, i.e. to control it by using economic or administrative management tools.

The most outspoken critics of Hardin's article have demonstrated that the failure is not due to the common nature of the resources but to the fact that there is free access. There are numerous examples to show that a community can manage a common resource sustainably.

Several authors, such as Ostrom (1990; 1999), Berkes et al (1989), and Stevenson (1991) disagree with Hardin's view that successful collective action is impossible. They present the principles of an institutional approach based on formal or informal regulatory mechanisms that govern the viability of ecosystems. This governance makes reference to stakeholder representations and is based on the principle of negotiation.

Local approaches tend to be ineffective because of interference from external actors or constraints beyond the locality (at different scales). Research is now focusing on the concept of co-management (McCay and Jones, 1997). If co-management can be applied when different stakeholders use a given resource for the same purpose (for example, fishermen or members of an association of catchment areas), then the issue now is to extend it to resources with multiple uses. This requires other forms of arbitration and collective decisions.


Arrow K.J. et Fisher A. 1974. Environmental Preservation, Uncertainty, and Irresversibility. Quaterly Journal of Economics, 88: 312-319.

Berkes F., Feeny D., McCay B.J. et Acheson J.M. 1989. The benefits of the commons. Nature, 340: 91-93

Bromley D.W. 1991. Environment and Economy, Property Rights and Public Policy. Blackwell, Cambridge.

Clark C.W. 1990. Mathematical Bioeconomics; The Optimal Management of Renewable Resources. John Wiley & Sons Inc., New York..

Dales J.H. 1968. Pollution, Property and Prices, An Essay in Policy Making and Economics. University of Toronto Press, Toronto.

Hardin G. 1968. The tragedy of the commons. Science 162: 1243-1248.

McCay B.J. et Jones B. 1997. Proceedings of the Workshop on Future Directions for Common Property Theory and Research. Ecopolicy Center for Agricultural, Environmental and Resource Issues, New Jersey.

Ostrom E. 1990. Governing the Commons. Cambridge University Press, Cambridge.

Ostrom, E. 1999. Coping with tragedies of the commons. American Review of Political Science, 2: 493-535.

Stevenson G.G. 1991. Common Property Economics. A General Theory and Land Use Applications. Cambridge University Press, Cambridge

Le Cirad Centre de coopération internationale en recherche agronomique pour le développement
Legal notice © Copyright Cirad 2001-2015

AccueilDemarcheLogicielApplicationsBiblioFormationReseaux

 

 

 

 

Deux approches de la gestion
des ressources

De nombreux chercheurs s'intéressent à la gestion des ressources naturelles. Nous citons ici deux groupes qui se sont structurés autour de deux associations de recherches, l'International Society of Ecological Economics (Isee) et l'International Association for the Study of Common Property (Iascp). La première s'est orientée vers la recherche d'une formalisation intégratrice du système écologique dans la pensée économique. Quant à la seconde, elle s'intéresse à la gestion des biens communs, et plus particulièrement des ressources naturelles renouvelables.

Les approches économiques

L'économie des ressources naturelles et de l'environnement propose un ensemble de théories et de concepts producteurs d'outils de suivi, d'analyse, d'évaluation et de régulation (Dales, 1968 ; Arrow et Fisher, 1974 ; Bromley, 1991). En particulier, l'économie va fournir une modélisation de l'exploitation des ressources renouvelables destinée à en contrôler la soutenabilité grâce à l'emploi d'instruments de gestion comme les taxes, les quotas, les licences et permis, les subventions, les normes, les droits de propriété, les marchés de droits.

Par ailleurs, l'économie de l'environnement s'appuie sur une représentation circulaire de l'interaction homme-nature. L'environnement offre des services évaluables à la société, en retour les hommes transforment l'environnement, ce qui, en contraignant les décisions d'autres agents, constitue une externalité. Des politiques et outils de gestion appropriés permettent d'inciter à un usage efficient des services naturels et à la compensation des externalités.

Tant pour les services que pour les externalités, l'économie propose des méthodes pour une évaluation monétaire et donne ainsi des éléments pour un arbitrage entre différents usages possibles d'un écosystème, voire d'un paysage. De nombreuses critiques ayant été formulées dans l'emploi normatif de ces méthodes, celles-ci sont aujourd'hui présentées dans une logique de négociation entre les acteurs, faisant appel à leur pouvoir d'explicitation des représentations.

Une des critiques de l'approche économique concerne la dimension temporelle, peu prise en compte dans une pensée qui se donne pour objectif la définition d'un équilibre entre ressources et société.

L'approche " ecological economics " a ajouté à ce cadre d'analyse le concept de co-adaptation entre la sphère naturelle et la sphère sociale. De plus, les dynamiques sont différentes d'un enchaînement de situations d'équilibre. Les modélisations systémiques qui représentent la dynamique à travers des relations stocks-flux ont été très utilisées (Clark, 1990).

Les ressources en propriété commune

La création d'une association internationale pour l'étude de la propriété commune (Iascp) a eu lieu dans la deuxième moitié des années 80. Il faut cependant en trouver les origines bien avant. Sans mobiliser l'histoire de la pensée économique qui est pourtant sous-jacente au débat, la publication en 1968 de la théorie de la tragédie des communs, par G. Hardin, est considérée comme un acte fondateur. En effet, l'auteur exprime une pensée selon laquelle une ressource commune soumise à des agents économiques rationnels est condamnée à la disparition par sur-exploitation. Le problème étant ainsi posé, les solutions qui en résultent sont la privatisation ou la mise en place d'une autorité centrale chargée de gérer l'accès aux ressources, c'est à dire de le contrôler en utilisant à cet effet des outils de gestion économique ou administrative.

Les critiques les plus importantes de l'article de Hardin ont mis en évidence que la tragédie n'est pas due au caractère commun des ressources mais plutôt à leur accès libre. Les exemples sont nombreux pour illustrer qu'une ressource commune peut être l'objet d'une gestion durable par la communauté.

S'opposant au courant de pensée de Hardin sur l'impossibilité d'une action collective, de nombreux auteurs tels Ostrom (1990; 1999), Berkes et al (1989), Stevenson (1991) ont présenté les fondements d'une approche institutionnaliste qui met l'accent sur les mécanismes de régulation, formels ou informels, qui gouvernent la viabilité des écosystèmes. Gouverner fait référence aux représentations des acteurs et se fonde sur un principe de négociation.

Constatant le manque d'opérationnalité d'une approche locale en raison de l'interférence avec des acteurs extérieurs ou de contraintes provenant d'échelles différentes, l'évolution actuelle de la recherche tend vers le concept de co-management (McCay et Jones, 1997). Mais si le co-management a pu être abordé dans le cas d'usagers utilisant la même ressource pour le même but (par exemple pêcheurs, membres d'une association de bassins versants), l'enjeu en est maintenant l'extension à des ressources à usages multiples, qui impliquent d'autres formes d'arbitrage et de décision collective.

Références

Arrow K.J. et Fisher A. 1974. Environmental Preservation, Uncertainty, and Irresversibility. Quaterly Journal of Economics, 88: 312-319.

Berkes F., Feeny D., McCay B.J. et Acheson J.M. 1989. The benefits of the commons. Nature, 340: 91-93

Bromley D.W. 1991. Environment and Economy, Property Rights and Public Policy. Blackwell, Cambridge.

Clark C.W. 1990. Mathematical Bioeconomics; The Optimal Management of Renewable Resources. John Wiley & Sons Inc., New York.

Dales J.H. 1968. Pollution, Property and Prices, An Essay in Policy Making and Economics. University of Toronto Press, Toronto.

Hardin G. 1968. The tragedy of the commons. Science 162 : 1243-1248

McCay B.J. et Jones B. 1997. Proceedings of the Workshop on Future Directions for Common Property Theory and Research. Ecopolicy Center for Agricultural, Environmental and Resource Issues, New Jersey.

Ostrom E. 1990. Governing the Commons. Cambridge University Press, Cambridge.

Ostrom, E. 1999. Coping with tragedies of the commons. American Review of Political Science, 2: 493-535.

Stevenson G.G. 1991. Common Property Economics. A General Theory and Land Use Applications. Cambridge University Press, Cambridge


Le Cirad Centre de coopération internationale en recherche agronomique pour le développement
Informations légales © Copyright Cirad 2001-2013 cormas-webmaster@cirad.fr